A little bit about me

I forgot to do this when I joined :smile:

I’m an undergrad student majoring in psychology and minoring in biology. I went my whole childhood and adolescence undiagnosed, but I was finally diagnosed with NVLD a year ago. I love volunteering at my local animal shelter and training in flyball with my dog. I pet sit and dog walk any time I get a chance. I plan to apply for a master’s in animal behavior. My dream job is conservation detection dog handler.

College has been both a struggle and a refuge for me at the same time. I wasn’t able to drive until I finally got a driver’s license at 21, so I can’t help but feel that the highschool/community college years when I would actually have had more time to work (unlike now that I’m a full time student) were totally wasted. My hometown is rural with no public transportation so I couldn’t go anywhere except school because my parents didn’t have time to take me places and I didn’t have a lot of friends. I’m really privileged to have parents who wanted to support me until I finish my bachelor’s. In college, the rules (usually) make sense. You do what your professor tells you to, you do it well and submit it on time, you get a good grade. I’m good at following the rules when the rules are actually clearly laid out. School has been a refuge from the minefield of fake job postings, unclear descriptions, “entry level job: 10 years experience required,” and intensely social world that is the working world in this day and age. But I will have to face it, sooner rather than later, so that’s my next hurdle in life. Because of all the years where I was so isolated, I kind of feel like I’ve only just entered the “real world” in the last 2 years :sweat_smile: So it feels like so much at once when I’m only just learning how to be a person.

Anyway that’s a little bit about me plus some rambling. Glad to be here!

Thanks for sharing your story, and welcome to the site!